Friday, March 1, 2019

Around the World from Home: 2019 Texas Cultural Events & Festivals

As far back as I can remember one of my favorite outdoor things to do was/is attend festivals. Growing up I looked forward to the Houston International Festival every year. The music, the food, and the cultural exposure...there’s usually always something fun to do and cool to see at festivals. Here’s a list of some cool festivals taking place in the Houston, Texas area or within driving distance of the Houston, Texas area this year. Some of these events are free and tickets to some of the events that aren’t free can be purchased at a discount on Groupon so be sure to do a little research before you plan your next adventure. #liveItUp

March 2019
2/25-3/17 Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo https://www.rodeohouston.com/
3/2 Kingwood Mardi Gras Festival & Parade more information
3/23 Houston Holi Festival http://houstonholi.com/
3/29-31 Tomball German Heritage Festival https://www.tomballgermanfest.com/
3/30 Brazilian Food & Music Festival http://www.brazilianfoodmusicfestival.com/
3/30-31 The Houston Children’s Festival https://www.houstonchildrensfestival.com/
April 2019 

April 5th-7th Poteet Strawberry Festival  http://strawberryfestival.com/
April 6th Houston Zydeco Festival  http://houstonzydecofest.com/
April 6th-7th Houston Palestinian Festival http://pacchouston.org/events/festivals
April 6th-7th Texas Wine & Art Festival http://www.txwineandart.com/
April 14th Houston Barbecue Festival  https://houbbq.com/
April 27th Katy Sip N Stroll   http://www.sipandstroll.com/Home.shtml
April 28th West Houston Food Truck Festival  https://www.westhoustonfoodtruckfestival.com/


May 2019
May 3th-5th The Houston Polish Festival https://www.houstonpolishfestival.com/
May 16th-19th Houston Greek Fest http://www.houstongreekfest.com/

June 2019
June 29th The Woodlands Margarita Festival  http://www.thewoodlandsmargaritafest.com/

** PAST EVENTS **

May 2018


5/5th Texas Taco, Tequila & Margarita Festival https://www.thetexastacofestival.com/
5/5th Chachi’s Cinco de Mayo in the Park http://chachismexicanrestaurant.com/?page=events
5/6th Margarita, Tequila, & Taco Festival https://www.facebook.com/events/715747578624654/?ti=icl
5/ 25th-27th   Comicpalooza  https://www.comicpalooza.com/

June 2018
June 15th-17th Galveston Island Cajun Festival http://www.galvestoncajunfestival.com/
June 16th Summer Showdown Margirita Festival
June 16th 2018 Soul Flower Music Fest https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2018-soul-flower-music-fest-tickets-42953342604
June 23rd Houston Pride Festival
June 24th Pan-African Heritage & Cultural Festival

July 2018
July 8th Houston Caribbean Festival http://houstoncaribbeanfest.com/
July 21st VegFest Houston 2018
July 27th-Aug. 5th   Houston Shakespeare Festival
July 28th Fajita Festival http://www.thefajitafest.com/

August
8/11 Anime Art Show https://www.facebook.com/events/875837879283070/?ti=ia 8/17-19 Highland Village Balloon Festival https://lionsballoonfest.com/schedule-of-events/ 8/18 Houston Food Festival https://www.eventbrite.com/e/2018-houston-food-fest-tickets-43936853311 8/25 Sandcastle Competition- Galveston https://aiahouston.org/v/site-home/AIA-Sandcastle/3m/ 8/25 Worldwide Day of Play- Houston https://www.facebook.com/events/248943849282086/?ti=ia 8/26 Family Fun Day Benefiting America’s Cajun Navy https://abc13.com/amp/heres-a-way-you-can-help-harvey-heroes-cajun-navy/2985930/ 8/26 Houston Theater District Open House http://www.theaterdistrictopenhouse.com/schedule.php 8/26 Houston Food Truck Festival https://www.eventbrite.com/e/houston-food-truck-festival-concert-carshow-tickets-46487952718/amp 8/31-9/2 Brewmasters Craft Beer Festival https://www.brewmastersbeerfest.com/default.aspx

September
8/31-9/2 Brewmasters Craft Beer Festival https://www.brewmastersbeerfest.com/default.aspx
9/6 First Thursday Festival http://www.midmainhouston.com/firstthursday/
9/7-9/8 Edge of Texas Festival https://www.texasmonthly.com/event/the-edge-of-texas/
9/8 Hummingbird Festival at Kleb Woods Nature Preserve http://www.pct3.com/portals/45/docs/news/hummingbird.pdf
9/14-16 Native American Pow Wow https://tradersvillage.com/grand-prairie/events/powwowgrandprairie/
9/23 Houston Jerk Fest http://houstonjerkfestinc.com/
9/28 Whiskey & Wine Festival https://www.eventbrite.com/e/whiskey-wine-festival-tickets-46551439609
 9/28-10/21 Texas State Fair https://bigtex.com/
9/29 Oktoberfest http://www.oktoberfesthouston.com/
9/29-11/25 Texas Renaissance Festival https://www.texrenfest.com/

October
10/6 Houston Margarita Festival https://www.houstonmargaritafest.com/
10/6 Texas Wine & Art Festival https://www.eventbrite.com/e/texas-wine-and-art-festival-tickets-47558819710
10/11-14 Houston Italian Festival http://www.houstonitalianfestival.com/
10/13-14 Bayou City Art Festival http://www.artcolonyassociation.org/
10/18-21 Texas Rose Festival http://www.texasrosefestival.com/

November
11/1-25 Texas Renaissance Festival https://www.texrenfest.com/
11/2-11 Wurstfest https://wurstfest.com/
11/3 Houston Filipino Steet Festival https://www.facebook.com/events/2077503395857787/?ti=ia
11/6-7 International Literature Festival Houston event info
11/8 International Literature Festival San Antonio event info
11/8-10 Qulit Festival Houston http://quilts.com/quilt-festival-houston.html
11/8-11 Nutcracker Market https://www.houstonballet.org/about/nutcracker-market/
11/9-11 Fort Worth Greek Festival http://www.fortworthgreekfestival.com/
11/10 Houston Texas Taco Festival https://www.texastacomusicfest.com/
11/10 Children’s Festival event info
11/10-11 Islamic Art Festival https://www.visithoustontexas.com/event/islamic-art-festival/57312/
11/10-11 Texas Championship Native American Pow Wow tradersvillage.com/houston/events/powwow/
11/17 Festival of Lights https://www.visithoustontexas.com/event/festival-of-lights/57047/
11/17 Go Texan Chili Cookoff https://tradersvillage.com/houston/events/go-texan-chili-cookoff/
11/17-18 Houston Turkish Festival https://www.houstonturkishfest.com/
11/17-18 Arlington Texas Taco Festival https://www.tacofests.com/texas-taco-festival

December
12/1 Tamale Festival http://tamalefestivalhouston.com/tickets.html
12/1-1/6 Galveston Festival of Lights https://www.moodygardens.com/holiday_season/
12/1-1/6 Houston Magical Winter Lights & Lattern Festival https://magicalwinterlights.com/
12/7-12/9 Tomball German Christmas Market & Festival https://www.tomballgermanfest.org/
12/8 Texas Educational Shakespeare Festival More Information
12/28-12/30 Fredericksburg’s Hot Air Balloon Festival More Information
\
January 2019
1/5-6 San Antonio Spaghetti Festival https://tradersvillage.com/san-antonio/events/spaghetti-fest-2019/
1/12-13 Òlájú African Market Creative Arts Festival olajuartgroup.org/african-market
1/20 South Houston Food Festival More Information
1/26 Houston Winter Whiskey Tasting Festival  More Information
1/30-31 Wild & Scenic Film Festival http://cechouston.org/event/wild-scenic-film-festival-on-tour-2019/

February 2019
2/1-4 Wanderfest https://sheswanderful.wixsite.com/wanderfest
2/2 Houston Creole Heritage Festival https://www.mardigrashou.com/
2/2 Texas Lunar Festival http://www.texaslunarfest.net/home.html
2/9 Houston Hot Air Balloon Festival  More Information
2/16 Afro Renaissance Festival more information
2/25-3/17 Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo https://www.rodeohouston.com/

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by, please leave a comment...your feedback is greatly appreciated! - Mika